Image

Nonviolence or Nonexistence

Nonviolence or Nonexistence

“The reason I can’t follow the old eye-for-an-eye philosophy is that it ends up leaving everyone blind. Somebody must have sense and somebody must have religion. I remember some years ago, my brother and I were driving from Atlanta to Chattanooga, Tennessee. And for some reason the drivers that night were very discourteous or they were forgetting to dim their lights…And finally A.D. looked over at me and he said, ‘I’m tired of this now, and the next car that comes by here and refuses to dim the lights, I’m going to refuse to dim mine.’ I said, ‘Wait a minute, don’t do that . Somebody has to have some sense on this highway.’ And I’m saying the same thing for us here in Birmingham. We are moving up a mighty highway toward the city of Freedom. There will be meandering points. There will be curves and difficult moments, and we will be tempted to retaliate with the same kind of force that the opposition will use. But I’m going to say to you, ‘Wait a minute, Birmingham. Somebody’s got to have some sense in Birmingham.'”

–Martin Luther King, Jr., 3 May 1963

One comment on “Nonviolence or Nonexistence

Leave a comment